Events

Esports holding ESforce will become part of Mail.Ru Group

The ESforce esports holding is headed for a 100-percent integration into the framework of Russia’s largest technology company, Mail.Ru Group. This decision will not affect the company’s status or operating activities; ESforce will remain an autonomous holding within Mail.Ru Group which pledges to fulfill all its partner obligations and agreements in their entirety.

Mail.Ru Group acquires the business from Anton Cherepennikov and Highland Falls Investment. Cherepennikov keeps his Director and board of ESforce Holding Ltd. directors member positions.

Thanks to the synergy between complementary business areas, Mail.Ru Group will receive a complete environment and expertise in order to develop gaming and esports business areas, while ESforce will have an increase in audience indicators of the holding’s projects and extra growth areas to enlarge its total profits. A partnership of this kind is a great opportunity to reinforce ESforce’s leading positions in the Russian and CIS esports market, as well as expand its presence in the global esports arena.

Within last few years there have been significant investments in ESforce, which led to the holding’s brisk growth: at the moment the investment volume amounts to approximately 60M dollars, and this phase is almost over. In 2017 EBITDA was negative—approximately minus 15M dollars. The acquisition value totals 100M dollars deducting liability. There will be an additional payment at the end of 2018. Its amount will depend on KPI in certain financial and operating objectives. The anticipated payment sum amounts up to 20M dollars.

The expected revenue in 2017 totals 19M dollars, increasing by 150% compared to the previous year. Approximately 60% of revenue is evaluated in dollars and euro; roughly 80% of revenue is received from advertising and prize earnings. Apparel and accessories sales, event hosting and content creation make a contribution either.

As the major part of investments has been realized, and the business keeps growing, ESforce’s revenue is expected to increase by 80–100%, and losses will reduce by half. After that the company will start making profits by the end of the year.

"I perceive this transaction as the next step in ESforce’s development and consolidation in the world’s market. Esports has always been my passion, and I am happy that Russia’s largest Internet holding believes in the perspective of the business we have built within two years." — says Anton Cherepennikov, ESforce Holding director and co-owner.

"The world’s esports market is growing massively: according to some estimates, it is going to outrun the traditional sports market within the next decade. ESforce is one of the world’s leaders in all key areas. We are glad that this entire talented team who has built the business will stay in the company. Mail.Ru Group’s new acquisition obviously fits in the strategy. We are going to use our advantage on social media and in the gaming sphere to make ESforce’s success even more impressive. This acquisition perfectly fits in our strategy and has a lot of synergy with the existing business."Boris Dobrodeev, General Director (Russia) at Mail.Ru Group, commented on the acquisition.

ESforce Holding is one of the world’s largest esports organizations, and the leader in electronic sports in Russia. The company integrates all key areas of the esports business, from organizing international tournaments and professional content creation to publishing and advertising activities, as well as online retail sales of esports-themed merchandise. ESforce owns 14 websites, 209 social media pages, and the casting, analyst and video production studio RuHub. Online broadcasts of the holding’s project attract more than 82M unique users annually. In 2017 the holding’s audience totaled 116M users; the number of sessions amounted to 440M; streaming platforms users watched over 120M hours of online broadcasts.

События

Киберспортивный холдинг ESforce станет частью Mail.Ru Group

Киберспортивный холдинг ESforce на 100% войдет в структуру крупнейшей технологической компании России – Mail.Ru Group. Данное решение не затронет статус и операционную работу компании, ESforce останется самостоятельным холдингом в составе Mail.Ru Group, который обязуется выполнить все партнерские обязательства и договоренности в полном объеме.

Mail.Ru Group приобретает бизнес у Антона Черепенникова и Highland Falls Investment. Черепенников сохраняет позицию Директора и члена Совета Директоров Исфорс Холдинг Лимитед.

Благодаря синергии дополняющих друг друга направлений, Mail.Ru Group получит полноценную экосистему и экспертизу для развития игровых и киберспортивных направлений бизнеса, а ESforce, в свою очередь, рост аудиторных показателей проектов холдинга и дополнительные точки роста для увеличения их совокупной прибыли. Такое сотрудничество является прекрасной возможностью укрепить лидерские позиции ESforce на киберспортивных рынках России и СНГ, а также расширить присутствие на мировой киберспортивной арене.

В течение последних лет в ESforce были сделаны значительные инвестиции, обеспечившие активный рост холдинга: на данный момент объем инвестиций составляет 60 млн долларов, эта фаза практически завершена. Показатель EBITDA в 2017 году был отрицательным – около 15 млн долларов. Стоимость продажи при закрытии сделки составит 100 млн долларов за вычетом задолженности. Также в конце 2018 года будет совершена дополнительная выплата, размер которой будет зависеть от достигнутых KPI по конкретным финансовым и операционным целям, предполагается, что размер выплаты может составить около 20 млн долларов.

Ожидается, что выручка за 2017 год составит около 19 млн долларов, показав рост примерно на 150% по сравнению с прошлым годом. Выручка в долларах и евро составляет около 60% от общего объема; примерно 80% выручки обеспечивает реклама и призовые, также вклад вносят продажи одежды и аксессуаров, проведение мероприятий и контент.
Поскольку большая часть инвестиций уже сделана и бизнес продолжает масштабироваться, ожидается, что выручка ESforce в 2018 году вырастет на 80–100%, а убытки сократятся вдвое, после чего компания выйдет на прибыль к концу года.

«Я вижу в этой сделке следующий этап развития ESforce и его укрепления на мировом рынке. Киберспорт всегда был моей страстью, и я рад, что в перспективность бизнеса, который мы построили за два года, верит крупнейший российский интернет-холдинг», – говорит Антон Черепенников, директор и совладелец холдинга ESforce.

«Мировой рынок киберспорта продолжает расти невероятно высокими темпами: по некоторым прогнозам, за следующее десятилетие он обгонит традиционный спортивный рынок. ESforce – один из мировых лидеров, занимающий ведущие позиции во всех ключевых сферах. Мы рады, что талантливая команда, выстроившая этот бизнес, в полном составе останется в компании. Новое приобретение Mail.Ru Group очевидным образом вписывается в стратегию; мы будем использовать наше преимущество в социальных сетях и игровой сфере, чтобы сделать успех ESforce еще более впечатляющим. Эта покупка полностью вписывается в нашу стратегию и содержит целый ряд синергий с существующим бизнесом», — прокомментировал покупку Борис Добродеев, генеральный директор (Россия) Mail.Ru Group.

ESforce Holding — одна из крупнейших киберспортивных организаций в мире и лидер российского компьютерного спорта. Компания объединяет все ключевые направления киберспортивного бизнеса от организации международных турниров и создания профессионального контента до издательской и рекламной деятельности и сетевого ритейла товаров киберспортивной тематики. ESforce принадлежат 14 сайтов, 209 групп в соцсетях и cтудия комментирования, аналитики и видеопродакшена RuHub, онлайн-трансляции проектов холдинга ежегодно привлекают более 82 млн уникальных пользователей. В 2017 году аудитория холдинга составила 116 млн пользователей, количество сессий достигло 440 млн; пользователи стриминговых платформ просмотрели более 120 млн часов онлайн-трансляций.