Events

“There are at least 3–4 million esports fans in Russia”: ESforce Holding speakers discuss esports industry prospects at SPIEF

Today’s panel session titled, Cybersport: Global Trends in Sports and Business at the 22nd St. Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF) gathered key representatives of state, business, sports and infrastructure organizations interested in development of esports in Russia. Two ESforce speakers participated in the session: Anton Cherepennikov, ESforce Holding CEO and board member, and Roman Dvoryankin, general manager of Virtus.pro.

The session moderator and Match TV general producer Tinatin Kandelaki presented a summary of the global esports industry’s growth today. Competitive esports events have seen a 25-percent annual growth in viewership, while cumulative audience of esports — after no more than 30 years of development — is now approaching that of centuries-old traditional sports such as ice hockey or football. In Russia, esports tournaments have been gathering both record attendance at arenas and record online viewership, and drawing close attention from Russian and international sponsors and investors.

ESforce co-founder Anton Cherepennikov spoke about Russian esports’ positions compared to other regions of the world, the actual size of esports tournament audiences in Russia, as well as the differences between electronic and traditional sports. “Russia is among global leaders in both esports infrastructure and the performance of teams with CIS rosters in various disciplines. As for investment into esports, Russia is not among the leaders here due to a limited capacity of the domestic advertising market, notwithstanding that ESforce’s revenue volume is the second largest in the world.

According to Anton Cherepennikov, the largest esports competitions are consistently gathering large audiences, both in Russia and globally. For example, one of the final matches at the recent EPICENTER XL in Dota 2, held in Moscow, was watched by 5.2 million viewers across the world on Twitch. “It was Twitch that helped take the esports ecosystem to a new level, even though its origins and early development date back to the 80s. The rapid increase in competition viewership resulted in an interest in esports from investors,” Anton Cherepennikov commented. The ESforce co-owner estimated the size of the loyal Russian-speaking esports audience at 3–4 million people.

Esports’ ample online presence and low threshold of entry are giving talented esports players from anywhere in Russia or other CIS countries an opportunity to become noticed. This was the topic of the talk by Roman Dvoryankin, general manager of Virtus.pro, part of ESforce Holding. “Much like a Brazilian boy kicking a ball around can be spotted by a scout and take his chance at a career in football, so can a simple 19-year-old young man from Novokuznetsk spend a few hours a day at the local cybercafé, perform well, and go on to become one of the best esports players in the world.” He was, of course, referring to Roman “RAMZES666” Kushnarev, a player on Virtus.pro’s Dota 2 roster. According to Roman Dvoryankin, esports gives young professional players across Russia an opportunity to earn a salary several times higher than the average for their regions. Later, these players can continue their careers as coaches or esports functionaries, further developing the industry’s ecosystem.

A full video of the session is available at this link.

События

В России не менее 3-4 млн фанатов киберспорта: спикеры ESforce Holding обсудили перспективы киберспортивной индустрии на ПМЭФ

Сегодня на 22-м Петербургском международном экономическом форуме состоялась панельная сессия “Киберспорт - новый глобальный тренд в спорте и бизнесе”, которая собрала ключевых представителей бизнеса, а также спортивных, инфраструктурных и государственных организаций, заинтересованных в развитии киберспорта в России. На сессии выступили два спикера от ESforce - Антон Черепенников, директор и член совета директоров ESforce Holding, и Роман Дворянкин, генеральный менеджер Virtus.pro.

В своем вступлении Тинатин Канделаки, модератор сессии и генеральный продюсер “Матч ТВ”, подвела промежуточные итоги развития киберспортивной индустрии на глобальном уровне. Так, ежегодный прирост аудитории киберспортивных соревнований составляет 25%, а совокупная аудитория киберспорта, развитие которого началось не больше 30 лет назад, уже приближается к видам спорта с вековой историей развития - таким как хоккей или футбол. В России же киберспортивные турниры собирают рекордно большую аудиторию как на стадионах, так и онлайн, и привлекают пристальное внимание международных и российских спонсоров и инвесторов.

Сооснователь ESforce Антон Черепенников рассказал о позициях российского киберспорта в сравнении с другими регионами мира, реальном объеме аудитории киберспортивных турниров в России, а также отличиях киберспорта от традиционного спорта. “Россия входит в число мировых лидеров как по инфраструктуре киберспорта, так и по результатам, которые показывают команды с СНГ-составом в различных дисциплинах. Если говорить об инвестициях в киберспорт, то здесь Россия не входит в список лидеров из-за ограниченной емкости отечественного рекламного рынка, хотя выручка холдинга ESforce - вторая в мире по объему”.

По словам Антона Черепенникова, крупнейшие киберспортивные соревнования собирают стабильно высокую аудиторию как во всем мире, так и в России. Например, один из финальных матчей на недавнем турнире EPICENTER XL по Dota 2 в Москве собрал более 5,2 млн зрителей по всему миру на платформе Twitch. “Именно Twitch помог вывести экосистему киберспорта на новый уровень, хотя она начала зарождаться и развивалась с 80-х годов. В результате стремительного роста просмотров соревнований появился и интерес инвесторов к киберспорту”, - пояснил Антон Черепенников. Объем лояльной русскоязычной киберспортивной аудитории сооснователь холдинга ESforce оценивает в 3-4 миллиона человек.

Широкое онлайн-присутствие киберспорта и низкий порог входа позволяют киберспортивным талантам проявить себя в любом городе России или стран СНГ. Об этом говорил в своем выступлении Роман Дворянкин, генеральный менеджер компании Virtus.pro, входящей в состав холдинга ESforce: “Так же, как и мальчишка из Бразилии, который гоняет по двору мяч, может быть замечен скаутом и иметь шанс построить карьеру в футболе, так и простой 19-летний парень из Новокузнецка может проводить по несколько часов в день в городском компьютерном клубе, показывать хорошие результаты и в итоге стать одним из лучших киберспортсменов мира”. Речь, конечно, о Романе Ramzes666 Кушнареве, который играет в составе Virtus.pro по Dota 2. По словам Романа Дворянкина, киберспорт дает молодым профессиональным игрокам по всей России получать зарплату в несколько раз выше, чем средняя по их региону. Впоследствии эти игроки смогут продолжить свою карьеру в качестве тренеров или киберспортивных функционеров, развивая экосистему индустрии.

Полная видеозапись сессии доступна по ссылке.