Events

First KFC Esports Championship concludes in Moscow

Last weekend, the LAN finals of the KFC Esports Championship, part of the KFC BATTLE international youth project, were held at Moscow’s Sokolniki Park. Whites was the winning team after beating Marlerino eSports 2-1 in an intense final match. The winner of the KFC Esports Championship will play in the Dota 2 Russian Cup finals held by the Russian eSports Federation. Whites players will also go on a trip to Europe organized by the tour operator SUNMAR.

ESforce Holding provided technical and expert support to the project, and the RuHub commenting and analysis studio livestreamed every match in the closed qualifiers and the finals. The number of unique connections to livestreams of matches at any time during the tournament peaked at 19,800. Overall, the closed qualifiers, rebroadcasts, highlights, and final games of the tournament were viewed over 2,000,000 times on Twitch and VK, while the cumulative viewing time for the entire tournament was 7,600,000 minutes. On the above indicators, the KFC Esports Championship has drawn level with a number of professional international Dota 2 competitions.

Yaroslav “NS” Kuznetsov, Mentor, KFC Esports Championship; commentator and analyst, RuHub Studio: “Projects such as the KFC Esports Championship help young teams and players put themselves on the map and get a real opportunity to make it to the big stage. It’s nice to see our industry being noticed by established large brands. This goes towards an increasing number of people in Russia and the CIS becoming interested in esports. It will be great if similar tournaments are also held in other esports disciplines in the future.”

Oleg Pisklov, Managing Director, Russia, CIS, Central & Eastern Europe, Yum! Brands: “Each year, KFC BATTLE grows in scale and variety; we add new areas of activity that reflect modern trends and interests among young people. An esports tournament fit naturally into the project’s overall philosophy. We got impressive results in match views and participant numbers. We have a serious mindset; now that we know just how popular this area of activity is among the young, we must develop it further. Fans of esports can count on our continued support in the future."

2018 saw the first time the KFC Esports Championship was included in the KFC BATTLE international youth project. 4415 people from various cities and countries in the CIS, including Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Belarus and others, took part in the championship’s open qualifiers, held from March 31 to April 2. The twelve best teams advanced to the closed qualifiers, and only four five-player squads made it to the project’s LAN finals in Moscow.

События

В Москве завершился первый Чемпионат KFC по киберспорту

В прошедшие выходные в парке “Сокольники” в Москве прошёл LAN-финал Чемпионата KFC по киберспорту в рамках Международного молодёжного проекта KFC BATTLE. Победителем турнира стала команда Whites, которая в напряжённом финале обыграла команду Marlerino eSports со счётом 2-1. Победитель Чемпионата KFC по киберспорту сыграет в финале по Dota 2 Кубка России по киберспорту 2018, проводимого Федерацией компьютерного спорта России. Также участники команды Whites отправятся в поездку в Европу от туроператора SUNMAR.

Холдинг ESforce оказывал техническую и экспертную поддержку проекту, а все матчи закрытых квалификаций и финальные игры в прямом эфире транслировала студия комментирования и аналитики RuHub. По итогам турнира пиковое значение уникальных подключений к прямой трансляции матчей составило 19 800. Всего закрытые квалификации, повторы, хайлайты и финальные игры турнира на платформах Twitch и “ВКонтакте” посмотрели почти 2 000 000 раз, а общее количество минут просмотров всего турнира составило 7 600 000. По перечисленным показателям Чемпионат KFC по киберспорту сравнялся с рядом профессиональных международных соревнований по Dota 2.

Ярослав “NS” Кузнецов, Наставник Чемпионата KFC по киберспорту,  комментатор и аналитик студии  RuHub: “Такие проекты как Чемпионат KFC по киберспорту помогают молодым командам и игрокам заявить о себе и получить реальный шанс пробиться на большую сцену. Приятно, когда на нашу индустрию обращают внимание серьёзные крупные бренды. Благодаря этому киберспортом начинают интересоваться всё больше людей в России и СНГ. Будет здорово, если подобные турниры в будущем будут проходить и по другим киберспортивным дисциплинам”.

Олег Писклов, генеральный директор Yum! Brands по России, СНГ, Центральной и Восточной Европе: “С каждым годом проект KFC BATTLE становится все масштабнее и разнообразнее, мы добавляем новые направления, которые отвечают современным трендам и интересам молодёжи. Киберспортивный турнир органично вписался в общую идеологию проекта. Мы получили впечатляющие результаты по просмотрам матчей и количеству участников. Настрой у нас серьёзный: раз это направление сейчас действительно настолько популярно среди молодёжи, значит, надо его развивать. Поклонники киберспорта могут рассчитывать на нашу поддержку и в будущем”.

Чемпионат KFC по киберспорту в 2018 году был впервые включён в программу Международного молодёжного проекта KFC BATTLE. В открытых квалификациях чемпионата, которые прошли с 31 марта по 2 апреля, приняли участие 4415 человек из разных городов и стран СНГ: России, Украины, Казахстана, Беларуси и т.д. Двенадцать лучших команд прошли в закрытые квалификации и лишь четыре пятёрки смогли пробиться в Москву, чтобы принять участие в LAN-финале проекта.