Events

Roman Dvoryankin speaks at White Nights conference in Moscow

White Nights, an international game industry conference which annually gathers over 4 thousand professionals at its various venues, has included an esports session held under the auspices of Game Insight, a mobile esports leader. Roman Dvoryankin, general manager at Virtus.pro, delivered a talk, Why Esports Is Serious and It’s Here to Stay, and took part in a panel session with representatives of ESL, Game Insight, Twognation, and Sports.ru.

In his talk, Roman spoke about the journey esports has made in Russia and abroad over the past few years. He said that younger audiences can relate to esports players better than they can to professional athletes or international film stars, while the industry on the whole is profitable for developers of esports titles (citing players’ contribution to the prize pool of Dota 2’s The International as an example; in-game purchases helped fund the largest prize pool in the title’s history) as well as for brands investing in esports. Russia’s esports industry can boast strong, world-famous teams as well as a stable ecosystem for brands and publishers; neither public money nor all-seeing regulators are present in esports.

“We are faced with a major task, that of making esports mainstream,” Roman Dvoryankin said. “In order to do that, we must compete not only with other esports teams, not even with other sports, but also with TV series, theaters, and even pubs. In short, with everything and anything people may do in their free time. And this competition is on a global scale, so in order to reach our goal, we must make esports more enjoyable to watch, attract professionals from other industries into esports, as well as tell wide audiences that esports is a dynamic and interesting field.”

Roman Dvoryankin also took part in a panel discussion titled, Business in Esports: Where’s the Money? As part of the session, Roman spoke about the different components of the team’s income and the prospects for the industry’s development. “It is an indicator of the success of esports that the largest digital TV services put the Twitch player next to digital television channels — meaning that content aggregators and media companies realize that an increasing number of people want to watch tournaments and esports teams. Overall, esports is an industry in which money can be earned in a wide variety of ways. For example, we pay for the services of a startup that collects statistical information about competing teams’ games. Esports is also yet to start employing agents, of the kind that every celebrity has. I’m sure we’re going to see these and similar professions and services geared towards esports in the coming years,” Roman commented.

White Nights is an international business conference devoted to game development and promotion. It is held three times a year: in Berlin in February, in St. Petersburg in June, and in Moscow in October. Overall, in the course of a year, White Nights events gather over 4,000 professionals. A closed CEO Summit for top managers is also held once a year in Europe. The conference is organized by Nevosoft, a St. Petersburg-based developer and publisher of mass-audience games.

События

Роман Дворянкин выступил на конференции White Nights в Москве

На международной конференции для игровой индустрии White Nights, которая ежегодно собирает более 4 тысяч профессионалов на своих площадках, состоялась киберспортивная сессия под эгидой лидера в сфере мобильного киберспорта Game Insight. Генеральный менеджер команды Virtus.pro Роман Дворянкин выступил с темой “Почему киберспорт — это всерьез и надолго” и принял участие в панельной сессии с представителями турнирного оператора ESL, компаний Game Insight и Twognation и издания Sports.ru.

В своем выступлении Роман рассказал о том пути, который киберспорт проделал в России и за рубежом за последние несколько лет. По его словам, киберспортсмены понятнее и ближе молодой аудитории, чем профессиональные спортсмены или звезды мирового кино, а индустрия в целом прибыльна и для разработчиков киберспортивных дисциплин (как пример — вклад игроков в призовой фонд чемпионата мира по Dota 2 The International, чьи внутриигровые покупки позволили обеспечить крупнейший призовой фонд в истории этой дисциплины), так и для брендов, которые инвестируют в киберспорт. Российская киберспортивная индустрия может похвастаться как сильными командами, знаменитыми во всем мире, так и стабильностью своей экосистемы для брендов и паблишеров — в киберспорте нет ни государственных денег, ни всевидящих регуляторов.

“Перед нами стоит большая задача — вывести киберспорт в “мейнстрим”, — говорит Роман Дворянкин. — А чтобы это сделать, мы должны конкурировать не только с другими киберспортивными командами и даже не с другими видами спорта, но и с сериалами, театрами и крафтовыми барами. Словом, со всем, что люди могут делать в свое свободное от работы время. При этом эта конкуренция имеет глобальный масштаб — и чтобы прийти к нашей цели, мы должны делать киберспорт более приятным для просмотра, привлекать профессионалов из других отраслей в киберспорт, а также рассказывать широким аудиториям о том, что такое динамичная и интересная сфера киберспорта”.

Роман Дворянкин также принял участие в панельной сессии под названием “Бизнес в киберспорте: где деньги?” В рамках сессии Роман рассказал, из чего складываются доходы киберспортивного состава и дал прогноз развития индустрии. “Показателем успеха киберспорта является то, что в крупнейших сервисах цифрового ТВ плеер Twitch и цифровые телеканалы стоят рядом — то есть агрегаторы контента и медиакомпании понимают, что за турнирами и киберспортивными командами хочет наблюдать все больше людей. В целом киберспорт — та индустрия, в которой деньги можно заработать совершенно разными путями. Например, мы оплачиваем услуги стартапа, который собирает статистическую информацию по играм конкурирующих команд. В киберспорте также пока нет агентов, которые есть у любого селебрити. Я уверен, что в ближайшие годы мы увидим эти и многие другие профессии и сервисы, ориентированные на киберспорт”, прокомментировал Роман.

White Nights Conference — это международная бизнес-конференция о разработке и продвижении игр. Она проходит три раза в год: в феврале в Берлине, в июне в Санкт-Петербурге, в октябре в Москве. Суммарно за год White Nights собирает более 4000 профессионалов. Также один раз в год проходит СЕО Саммит в Европе, закрытое мероприятие только для топ-менеджеров. Организатор конференции — компания Nevosoft, петербургский разработчик и издатель игр для массовой аудитории.