Events

Roman Dvoryankin, Virtus.pro General Manager: “One of esports’ key features is its global nature”

The session titled “Esports industry: a development vector of the IT sector” took place on September 13 as part of the Russian Investment Forum in Sochi where the general manager of Virtus.pro Roman Dvoryankin joined the speakers. The topic of computer sports was included in the business discussion program in 2019.

Other participants of the discussion included Dmitry Kolobov, the director of the Industry and Enterprise department of the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation, Alexander Prokopiev, deputy of the State Duma, Dmitry Smit, the president of the Russian Esports Federation, Olga Ocheretina, Pochta Bank communications director, Viktoria Tarantina, iRU general manager. Stanislav Surovtsev, the head of the Youth Policy Department of Moscow State Institute of International Relations of Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Russia) acted as a moderator of the session.

The panellists have discussed the relevant issues and questions regarding the development of esports and have highlighted its characteristics and appeal to investors. “Unlike traditional sports, one of esports’ key features is its global nature”, noted Roman Dvoryankin, “That means leading international teams can play against each other not just 1-2 times per year, like in football, but 5-10 times in a single season. This makes esports a very appealing investment sector as it allows you to keep the audience interested and growing throughout the entire year.”

Roman has likened the success of the Russian esports to the traditional sports over the course of his speech: “Esports is one of the very few examples of our club, Virtus.pro, being absolutely competitive in the international arena. This situation, unfortunately, is a rare sight in other sports. It is also telling to have our results recognized on the global level. One of the recent and bright examples – Virtus.pro has been the first CIS team to acquire its own unique Twitter “hashtag”. That means that a major multinational company with billions in turnover has acknowledged the success of the Russian esports club and elevated it to the same level as NHL, NBA teams or “Oscar” and “Grammy” awards recipients.”

The general manager of Virtus.pro has highlighted the main factors that contributed to the positive dynamics of esports growth in Russia: “It is worth to note that our esports framework is quite well-designed. All interested players on the market help each other and carry out their duties in good faith. It is important to commend the Russian Esports Federation for their immense efforts in popularizing and improving the image of our sport on federal and regional levels every year,” continues Roman. “Another factor of stable growth – reasonable dialogue of the market participants with the executive and legislative branches of the State. We are happy to realize that our voices are heard and, even more importantly, considered on all levels. Effective co-operation with the state allows both professional and amateur-level esports to flourish not only regarding the sports results, but also from the social point of view.”

Roman has also assessed the computer sports market conditions for investors: “The entry threshold for esports is not as low as it used to be a couple of years ago when it comes to investments. As new players appear, the product package that esports provides to businesses increases, and the teams’ and players’ media success improves by the day.”

However, Dvoryankin has also mentioned the industry’s main issue: “Esports still suffers from staff shortage. This still remains one of the main problems of the industry. For instance, finding an accountant that is able to accurately record the revenue brought by virtual stickers sales from a video game is nigh impossible. Finding a lawyer able to properly legislate a transfer of an esports player while taking into consideration all the peculiarities of the trade in modern realities is a very challenging task as well.”

The complete recording of the broadcast is available on the Forum’s website using the following link: https://rusinvestforum.org/en/programme/. The Russian Investment Forum is a platform that opens up a discussion of the regions’ investment and economic potential. The Roscongress Foundation is the organizer of the event; this year’s Forum’s main topic is the implementation of nation-wide projects.

События

Генеральный менеджер Virtus.pro Роман Дворянкин: “Одна из особенностей киберспорта – его глобальность”

13 сентября на Российском инвестиционном форуме в Сочи прошла сессия “Индустрия киберспорта – вектор развития IT-промышленности", на которой одним из спикеров выступил генеральный менеджер Virtus.pro Роман Дворянкин. В 2019 году в повестку деловой программы Форума впервые была включена тема компьютерного спорта.

В сессии также приняли участие директор департамента развития промышленности социально-значимых товаров Минпромторга Дмитрий Колобов, депутат Государственной думы Александр Прокопьев, президент Федерации компьютерного спорта России Дмитрий Смит, директор по связям с общественностью ПАО «Почта Банк» Ольга Очеретина, генеральный менеджер iRU Виктория Тарантина. Модератором сессии выступил начальник управления по молодежной политике МГИМО МИД России Станислав Суровцев.

Участники дискуссии обсудили актуальные вопросы развития киберспорта, выделили его особенности и привлекательность для инвесторов. “В отличие от традиционных видов спорта, особенность компьютерного в том, что он глобален, – отметил Роман Дворянкин,  – значит, что ведущие мировые команды могут играть друг с другом не один-два раза в год, как в футболе, а 5-10 раз за игровой сезон. Это позволяет на протяжении целого года удерживать и наращивать зрительскую аудиторию, делая киберспорт привлекательным направлением для инвестиций”.

В ходе своей речи Роман сравнил успехи российского киберспорта с традиционными видами: “Киберспорт – это один из очень немногих примеров, когда наш клуб Virtus.pro абсолютно конкурентоспособен на мировой арене. Такую ситуацию, к сожалению, редко где можно у нас наблюдать в других видах спорта. Показательно, что наши заслуги признаются и на глобальном уровне. Один из недавних, но ярких примеров – Virtus.pro стала первой СНГ-командой, у которой появился свой собственный “хэштег” в Twitter. Это значит, что крупная мультинациональная компания с миллиардными оборотами признала успешность российского киберспортивного клуба и поставила его в один ряд с командами NHL, NBA, премией “Оскар”, “Грэмми”.

Генеральный менеджер Virtus.pro выделил основные факторы, повлиявшие на позитивную динамику развития киберспорта в стране: “Можно отметить, что у нас довольно грамотно выстроена система в киберспорте. Все заинтересованные участники рынка помогают друг другу и качественно исполняют свои непосредственные обязанности. Здесь нельзя не отметить заслуги Федерации компьютерного спорта России, которая ежегодно проводит колоссальную работу по популяризации и росту узнаваемости нашего спорта на федеральном и региональном уровне. – говорит Роман. – Еще один фактор стабильного качественного развития – это адекватный диалог участников рынка с исполнительной и законодательной властью. Нам приятно осознавать, что на всех уровнях нас слушают и, что важно, слышат. Эффективная работа с властью помогает развиваться как профессиональному, так и любительскому киберспорту не только с точки зрения спортивных результатов, но и с точки зрения социальной составляющей”.

Роман также оценил состояние рынка компьютерного спорта для инвесторов: “Если говорить про инвестиции, то порог входа в киберспорт уже не такой низкий, как был пару лет назад. Появляются новые игроки, вместе с этим пакет продуктов, который киберспорт предлагает бизнесу, расширяется, а медийность команд и киберспортсменов постоянно растет”.

Вместе с тем Дворянкин затронул и основную проблему индустрии: “В киберспорте все еще чувствуется кадровый голод. И это одна из основных проблем индустрии. Например, найти бухгалтера, который сможет поставить на баланс условные стикеры из компьютерной игры практически невозможно. Или юриста, который грамотно оформит трансфер киберспортсмена, учитывая специфику деятельности и современные реалии, тоже найти очень сложно”.

Полная запись трансляции сессии доступна на сайте Форума по ссылке: https://rusinvestforum.org/programme/. Российский инвестиционный форум выступает площадкой для презентации инвестиционного и экономического потенциала регионов. Организатором мероприятия выступает Фонд Росконгресс. Главной темой Форума в этом году стала реализация национальных проектов.